Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read quite a few threads in this forum and have not come across the thread I need, I hope someone here can help me.

I am new to using REW. I recently started experimenting with a mini DSP 2 x 4 to make an active crossover for an old pair of Klipsch speakers that I have. In the process of learning to create a crossover I came across the importance of time aligning the speakers. MiniDSP recommends using REW with a loop back to accurately measure the time taken for the sound to travel from speaker to the measurement mic. My understanding is that I can measure that time for my woofer and then measure the time for my tweeter subtract the two measurements and then use the difference as my alignment in my miniDSP.

I have the REW software. I am using the software on a MacBook. I have successfully installed and calibrated an ART Dual Pre And Dayton audio measurement microphone. I have a loopback cable in place with the dual pre from right input to right output. I made a calibration file for the Dual Pre and have the correction file for the mic. I have my preferences set under Analysis tab to use loopback. I have unselected the checkbox setting for Set T=0 at IR Peak.

My measurements seem to still be setting at 0 at the peak of the impulse response. Am I doing something wrong? Where should I be looking for the timing measurement information? I could really use some help in identifying this time delay information in REW.

Thank you for your help in advance.

·
Premium Member
1,562 Posts
This sounds correct. Just some thoughts:

I have my preferences set under Analysis tab to use loopback. I have unselected the checkbox setting for Set T=0 at IR Peak.
In the latest REW version that I am using (latest beta version) that check box is disabled when 'Use loopback for timing reference' is selected. It will have no impact on the result.