Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had this NAD amp for a couple of years now. I'm also fairly new to REW, but I think I'm past being a newbie. By way of a bit of background, most of my use (stereo) of the system having this amp involves a Raspberry Pi with a HiFiBerry Digi+ board running Pi MusicBox. Over my LAN I retrieve FLAC files from my NAS and stream lower-res music from the Internet, including Spotify. From the Digi+ I go TOSLink to a MiniDSP NanoDigi and then via SPDIF coax to the NAD. Thus, I stay in the digital domain right up to the bitter end when we must go analog to the speakers. It's a kind of expensive amp, but I chose it so I wouldn't need to have a separate DAC and I liked the idea of remaining in the digital domain for as long as possible. Also, theC390DD is module upgrade-able/update-able with 3 slots, one of which has a USB input card from a computer and 2 are empty. This all works well for me, and although I don't usually use the USB input, it does work. This is reminiscent of the old integrated vs separates issue of past years and I went with integrated. The jury is still out on whether I think I made the right move.

This NAD amp has built-in rudimentary EQ capability with 6 non-parametric bands, 40/60/90/120/180/240 hz each with -12db to +4 db range in 2 dB steps. For each frequency, there is also a Narrow/Wide toggle setting which supposedly sets Q, although I've not seen any documentation giving specifics. I have just updated the amp's firmware to V.2.88