Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've spent a TON of time researching and sub crawling, and repositioning subs, and calibrating sound levels, and and and...

So I've been able to calibrate it at 75db and did two runs (Among the hundreds previously.)

My last two runs and sub positions seem to give me the closes resemblance to a flat response but... it's not close to many I've seen posted.

How do I move forward and interpret what's going on with these two curves?

#1 The blue is two subs calibrated at 75db's and I believe out of phase.
#2 The maroon is the same two subs, same two positions and, I believe, in phase. I believe the maroon is now on the right track but I do not know what it's telling me beyond it's not flat? It's probably my room which is my family room without any sort of treatments. I'm fairly new to HT and so at this point, I've VERY proud of myself for being able to actually get something in the realm of "normal". :)

Front sub is a VTF-15H and rear sub is VTF2-MK3. The VTF2 is the phase I changed.

I have also attached a layout of my room. The 15H is in the top left, the old VTF2-MK3 position (position #1). The VTF2 is in the bottom left (Blue Square). My options are very limited as to where I can place subs.

Edit: Added one more screenshot which has my soundcard calibration and Mic/Meter calibration.

I had the 15H at the red square and the VTF2 in position #1 with far worse results. I have also tried 15H in position #1 and VTF2 in red square. Best results so far are 15H in pos. #1 and VTF2 in blue square.

So I'm not sure what's necessary here but here is what I have:

Laptop with external sound card which is the SoundBlaster X-Fi Pro (Best Buy 69.99) and installed the drivers/software that came with it.
Windows 7 Pro
REW v5 w/Java 6 Update 20
Radio Shack Digital Sound Meter

I have calibrated the sound card as well as I'm using the provided Radio Shack .cal.