Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again,

First off, thanks to all who have answered my previous questions about the 1124P. I do have two more questions though. First, I know there are a lot of threads about humming in these units. I have read a lot of them, but I am new to this world of balanced/unbalanced connections, cheater plugs, etc., so I thought I'd inquire about my specific situation. Here is what I have: being an old house, I have no ground wiring. I will run the BFD into a power strip that is plugged into a 3-prong wall outlet, just has no ground wire. For the signal, I have a single RCA-RCA cable (RS 42-2368) from the receiver, then an RCA splitter (RS 42-2535) into the BFD to run both channels. The channels are then run through adapters to a mono (unbalanced?) 1/4" plug (RS 274-320). Using the same part number adapters and RCA cables to then transmit to the sub amps. Am I guaranteed to have a humming problem, or should I try it and see? I don't have a huge budget for professional cables, hence why I used the Radio Shack units. Ideas?

Second question, should I leave this thing on at all times? I know others have reported popping in the subs when powered up. Will it harm the unit (or lose my presets) to leave it switched on and connect the power to my switched receiver output?

Thanks for any help,

Joe

·
Friend of the Shack
1,356 Posts
Hi Joe,

I think there are three separate potential sources of hum.

1) Some BFDs themselves actual have a buzz to them. That is, the unit itself has a hum. I've had two of these units, and neither hummed. This type of problem is caused directly by the BFD.