Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to the shack and DIY speaker building, that being said i am a good cabinet maker and are considering building a sub that can at least sound as good or better than a hsu uls 15.
I am using this as a reference for size and sound quality. The driver I have thought of using are the new LMSR 15 from tc sounds and a 1000 watt dayton plate amp. Any comments much appreciated (design and equipment).

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Mike. I will try to get the information from TC sounds. I am told this is a new driver
to be released in late December. I just asked for the best recommendation for high quality sub and amp that would meet or exceed the ULS 15 . I don't know if there are other combinations of amps and drivers that would work well, and be more reasonably priced. My knowledge is very low as far as reading specs
on drivers and matching amps therefore I am referring to the ULS-15 as a goal. I was going to purchase it because of price, reviews and size.

·
Registered
430 Posts
For sealed enclosures, output is a function of displacement (swept volume by the cone of the driver). Increase displacement and you move more air, move more air and you create more sound.

Using a near equal long throw 15 in a box of near equal size of the ULS-15 with near equal power, will result in near equal output.

So in order to achieve your goal of more output, you will need a driver(s) that will move more air than the ULS-15.

Way's of doing this.
1) Use more drivers than the ULS-15 with equal or more power and a larger box.
2) Use a bigger driver (18") than the ULS-15 with equal or more power and a larger box.
3) Use more drivers than the ULS-15 with more power and a slightly larger box.
4) Use a bigger driver (18") than the ULS-15 with more power and a slightly larger box.

·
Banned
1,074 Posts