Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm new to REW but I've made some headway.. have calibrated my FA66 soundcard, bought a UMM-6 from Cross Spectrum, and made some measurements of my setup.
Had to use the LineIn and SoundFlower workarounds to get audio working correctly on my Mac.
I've generated EQ settings and transferred these to a DEQ2496, and this seemed to sort out the booming I was experiencing from room modes around 49 and 57Hz

Discovered pretty quickly that 'flat' doesn't necessarily sound good, and started reading about House curves and about equal loudness contours.
I created a house curve modelled on ISO266:2003 at 90dB (I'm setting up a small PA).
So far so good.. but there seems to be overlap between what I'm trying to do with my house curve txt file, and the EQ slopes available in the REW Target settings...

Is my understanding of this correct?
IOW, if I have a house curve txt file imported for use in REW, I should rather make the LF rise and HF fall slopes equal 0.0dB/Octave, otherwise I'll be putting another slope on top of the slopes I've loaded using my house curve file?
The target line in the EQ interface suggests that this is the case, and that I should probably use the LF/HF slopes, OR a house curve, but not both at the same time.
Assistance is appreciated, and any constructive feedback on what I've learnt so far

Tim

·
Premium Member
1,562 Posts
there seems to be overlap between what I'm trying to do with my house curve txt file, and the EQ slopes available in the REW Target settings...

Is my understanding of this correct?
IOW, if I have a house curve txt file imported for use in REW, I should rather make the LF rise and HF fall slopes equal 0.0dB/Octave, otherwise I'll be putting another slope on top of the slopes I've loaded using my house curve file?