Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some advice on selecting not just a remote that'll control the living room HT system (6 components - TV, BDP, AVR, Cable Box, and a couple of gaming consoles - pretty simple), but will also be good for lighting and other plug-in devices around the home. Would prefer WiFi or RF between the remote and the hub, and would like the ability to talk to the system via smartphone. I've already made the assumption that if this remote is also going to do housework, I'll need a hub (or two?)

Being an engineer, I can probably do basic programming provided the language is not too complex. Not sure what a reasonable budget is right now - looking to keep it under $500 for all if possible, and I can add more options as I see fit (and the funds become available). This estimated $500 budget will need to contain the remote, hub(s), cables between hub(s) and devices, and at least a handful of receptacles, dimmers, etc.

I've looked extensively at harmony already, and just started looking at URC - these might be a bit too complex for my needs - would be nice, but I'd probably not want to spend several days/weeks programming and tweaking to make it seamless across all of my desired functions. Although that new MX-990 looks real nice...

Not sure if I've provided enough info yet, the idea is still in its infancy; but hopefully someone here can put me on a good path toward achieving my home automation bliss. The idea started with just a remote for the living room HT and blossomed from there once I saw what some of the more advanced devices could do. Don't want to get too far off track or ahead of myself - got lots of learning to do so any guidance y'all could provide would be very much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
5,817 Posts

·
Premium Member
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·