Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought the US-144 and the ECM-8000 mic just to use the wonderful REW software on my xp based laptop :) I'm a newbie, so please excuse any of my ignorance. I'm a pretty technical minded engineer though.

I had a few questions about calibrating the US-144 to determine if I need to order any additional cables:

1. I plan to use an XLR mic cable from the ECM8000 to the XLR input of the US-144. Will calibration through the left or right 1/8" analog input/output channels be good enough for the soundcard calibration? Obviously, there is some mic pre-amp circuitry that would be unaccounted for in the calibration right?

To account for the mic pre-amp circuitry in the US-144, should I use the soundcards analog output and feed this through the XLR input on the US-144 with phantom power off? Do you think this would increase the accuracy of the measurements or would it be a waste of money to buy a XLR to rca cable just for calibrating this way?

2. Does REW or others support response plots using an SPDIF output? If so, how would you calibrate this type of set up? For this I would use the SPDIF out on the US-144 or SPDIF on a soundcard combined with the XLR input on the US-144.

3. What about running a test sweep through 6 analog channels of a ASUS Xonar card and using the US-144 as the mic input with one microphone at my main listening position? Is this possible or a good idea? I don't have a mixer or anything to provide phantom power is why I'm asking.

I'm interested in this type of all channel test to tell what the response might be if I'm using all channel stereo on my receiver versus response for 2 channel stereo. I'm assuming it's easy for the software to accurately combine six individual response plots together, is this how a measurement like this is done?

Thanks in advance :bigsmile:

·
Super Moderator
9,252 Posts