Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi... I'm totally new to testing the acoustic response of a room but I really want to learn!

I use my laptop to record music. I'm currently planning on treating a room with bass traps etc and would like to compare a graph of before/after in terms of the dips and peaks in the range.

I own an Mbox2 by Digidesign. Can anyone tell me: has anyone had success using REW with that card?

Sorry if this has been asked before... i did a Search using the forum tools and couldn't find any references to this particular card.

If you have had success using it I would LOVE any help/tips!

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
has anyone had success using REW with that card?
It will work fine with REW, given that it has all the features required.

I'm currently planning on treating a room with bass traps etc and would like to compare a graph of before/after in terms of the dips and peaks in the range.
Waterfall and ETC will be the tools in REW to best evaluate the room treatment....

brucek

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It will work fine with REW, given that it has all the features required.
hmmm... not so sure now... certainly the Mbox has the right number of inputs and outputs but REW isn't registering the MBox as an option for input or output. I probably should done a forum search first... it looks like a couple of people have had this problem.

I'm not sure what it means, but I think those DigiDesign products all use ASIO and, from what I can tell, REW doesn't support that.

Is there any way around this, anyone?

Waterfall and ETC will be the tools in REW to best evaluate the room treatment....

brucek
Yes they sure will! Thanks for that advice. I've got myself an ECM8000 and nothing to run it through, at the moment... so frustrating!

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Aren't you able to switch to WDM drivers?

Can you see the Mbox in your Windows Sounds and Audio devices properties?

B

·
0 Posts