Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very familiar with most brands of speakers, but I'm rather new to DIY and was curious how the value of DIY options compare with Polk, SVS, B&W, ect...

There are certainly a lot of variables and exceptions, but I'm just looking for some generalized information as a starting point.

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
I'm sure you'll get more from your money with a DIY sub ...:yes:

Specially you can brag to friends and family about your build :whistling: . :bigsmile:

·
Registered
59 Posts
Alex:

It's hard to beat that "Look what I did" feeling!
You're not likely to build something right off the bat that's better than you can buy but eventually you will learn enough to make exactly what you want. And that's hard to find at any price!

Steve
http://www.kn7f.com/Theater/

·
Registered
493 Posts
I just installed an exterior door on one of my rental houses.

Lowe's wanted $300 for the installation. I did it for free if you don't count the $100 reciprocating saw, the $300 nail gun and compressor and lets not forget the approximate 20hrs labor. But man, its in there perfect. Matter of fact, I now go around looking at all other doors and find that a lot of them are crooked. lol

On the one hand, I don't mind buying $400 in tools as I've been wanting them for years and can use them on other projects and I kind of enjoyed tearing everything up and putting new in and getting it perfect, but if it was going to be only a "1 of" project, then I lost money. I think that's how some of these do it yourself projects turn out.