Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still relatively new to the playing field of speakers and brands. I have had not much exposure to many brands of speaker yet.

But my main question here is Velodyne a good sub company to build my home theater subs with?

And a second question is, for around the same prices who else would be good to consider?

·
Elite Shackster
1,506 Posts
Velodyne makes some great subs and are one of the most highly regarded in the business.

Great performance can be had from SVS for less money than velodyne and are the performance bang for the buck leaders. Click on their banner at the top of this page to go to their site.

I can't really think of any other sub manufacturers that I would unconditionally recommend after those two.

·
Banned
3,807 Posts
Well, I would add HSU to that list, and actually, there's a killer deal on a HSU designed subwoofer at Part's Express. These are new to the market and I haven't seen any reviews, but if it's good enough for HSU to put their name on, you can pretty much be guaranteed that it's a great sub, and that's a killer price (10" for $159 plus shipping, probably another $40).

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
how much THD should a good sub have?

Velodyne only lists its THD on 9 product/product lines, and most are under 5% it says.

·
Elite Shackster
1,506 Posts
how much THD should a good sub have?

Velodyne only lists its THD on 9 product/product lines, and most are under 5% it says.
That's a can of worms I don't know if you want to open :bigsmile: You'll find a lot of opinions when it comes to statistics but the truth is (especially with subwoofers) there are so many variables that a spec like that is unreliable. There is no consistent method for measuring subwoofer distortion such that specs between companies would be of any meaning. Even if there were specs like that, things change rapidly when things get loud or deep.