Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As of now, I have a small sealed 10" sub, powered by a 100watt amp that I got from PEx. I have a budget of about ~200 and was thinking about getting the 300watt BASH amp, and just some "good" car subwoofer in a fairly large ported enclosure. But, I don't know what sub to get that I could get for under 50 bucks. ( I'd look for a used but in good condition something or another from ebay. ) I have a Right now, I can go to about 27-30Hz, and get some sound, but anything below that and it gets really weak. The box I have now is about 16*16*12 (W-H-D) and I can go as large as 18*40*18. Should I wait until I've saved up a lot more? Because I don't know if I'm willing to spend much more being as I'm a student and don't have a lot of money to waste.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I've seem a ton of Dayton Quatro 15" sub projects using the 240watt PE amp. The enclosures are usually around 5 to 6 cu ft. Prettly low budget and some decent output (based on others reviews).

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I might just get the amp now, and then wait a few weeks, try to get my current amp sold, or the whole sub, and buy a sub to match it. I might have to wait a while though because I can't think of anyone who around here who would pay ~90-100 bucks for a subwoofer/sub amp. (Unfortunately) =\

I was also thinking of putting the plate amp into it's own little enclosure and putting it on my desk with my receiver, speakers, moniter, etc. That was I could have full control of my sub without moving, unlike now where I have to get up, and walk over behind me and turn it down when my parents get home.

P

·
0 Posts