Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
REW newbie here, running v4.11 on Windows XP with Creative Extigy external sound card.

During the initial sound card calibration, I loopback the output to input on Extigy and run Measure.

I'm getting a warning message "very low signal level" "The highest level in the measurement is just -90.3dBFS
This is much lower than it should be. Check the input channel selection, connection, input volume and wave volume/mute.
The highest level should ideally be above -10dBFS"

Under "settings" I did set both output device and output to Sound Blaster Extigy, as is input device and input.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
678 Posts
On my Windows XP system, I always have to go into the Control Panel -> Sound applet and in the Recording device I have to unclick and reclick the Line-in source for REW to see the incoming signal. I also have to adjust the volume in the Playback Control device to ensure adequate output volume; the wave output volume in REW controls only one of two Windows XP volume controls. This is with a built-in Creative soundcard, so yours may behave differently.

Bill

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK.

Turns out default windows driver is not good. Install the SB driver only and I can finally set the overall sound level.

·
Registered
678 Posts
Do you have to calibrate the SPL meter BEFORE you calibrate the sound card?
No. You need to build the soundcard calibration file first, as that uses a loopback connection. Then, after connecting the microphone, you can calibrate the SPL level in REW to what the SPL meter reads.

Does this look right for the sound card calibration?