Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to speaker building and design. I was wanting other opinions on my design for my first build. I have not built these yet, and any improvements or suggestions will be appreciated. So, it will have two HIVI B3N 3" and two Peerless 830880 passive radiators. I really want to use passive radiators, I think they're cool, and think they would be fun to use. I attached a screencap of the bassbox model for this design, if you want more info/pics please ask.

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts
Re: Wanting opinions/improvements for fist build

Welcome to HTS! You need five posts before you can share links and pics, please visit the Post Padding Thread.

Using two B3N and passive radiators is a cool idea and should work well for bass performance.

You should, however, consider a "1.5-way" crossover design. This will add a series inductor in front of the lower woofer which will roll-off the highs. This will greatly help the off-axis high frequency response of the speaker. Generally you only want one source for high frequencies, unless you really know what you're doing, or there will be acoustic phase issues.

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
5,742 Posts

Thank you. Do you have any suggestions for what frequency I should use for the crossover?
for a good crossover you're going to need a mic and record responses from the individual drivers to get a good idea and work backword from there. not saying it's impossible but a crossover is probably the most crucial and difficult part of designing a speaker using untested components

·
Registered
3 Posts

I like to think that I am not overly stupid, but for the life of me I can not see where I make posts. Can you advise please?

·
Registered
29 Posts