Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might be a dumb question but I can't seem to find clear answers with a google search. Let's say I want to have the TV screen on (whether the image is coming from a cable box or a PS3) but also listen to music (whether that be through regular AM/FM stereo, Spotify, iTunes, mp3, etc), is that possible w/o funky wiring? If so, which receivers can handle that?

Similarly, what if I want to watch TV with sound in zone 1 while listening to music in zone 2? What receivers and/or features will allow me to do that?

Sorry if this is confusing. I'm really new to all of this stuff and trying to learn as much as possible before buying anything. If anyone doesn't understand what I'm asking, let me know and I'll try to clarify. Thanks in advance for the help.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
What you want to do is simple, depending on how you have everything wired and the receiver that you have. If you send everything through the receiver via HDMI then it (the receiver) determines what you see/hear. Some receivers offer a zone 2 option.

You can always use the other outputs on the cable box/PS2 (cable out, component/RCA video and audio out depending on what each has) and send them to other inputs on the TV. Basically, you would have one input on the TV that is slaved to the receiver via HDMI and uses the TV as a monitor and ALSO use the other inputs on the TV for direct connection from the other sources. This would allow you to do what you want regardless of what receiver you have. The sound would be from the TV on one source and the receiver for another though.

I hope that this helps; when you buy your receiver ask about a Zone 2 option as some require another amp. Also, feel free to ask any other questions. A list of the models of the TV and receiver would help if you still have questions. Good luck!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)