Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I've just calibrated my soundcard (via loopback), and while the routine seemed to run fine, I was surprised by how rough the frequency curve looked. The device is an Apogee Duet, so it's got extremely good converters - I would have thought that this would have meant I'd get a pretty flat calibration graph.

Here's what it looks like:
Duet Freq Response.png

Obviously I could be overestimating the unit, and this might be completely correct, however, any pointers would be great...

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
I'm no expert but it looks like you're getting feedback. Is there a setting for "Record Monitoring" that might be enabled?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OK, so I did a bit more investigation, and decided to record what REW was actually sending as the output signal. The left channel sounds fine, just a regular 1kHz tone, but the right is just a wierd buzzing sound. I use the Duet all the time for recording and playback, and nothing else makes that noise, so I think that isolates it to REW. Furthermore, it don't think it could be a feedback issue, as a) the left channel with the same setup has no problems, and b) it generates the noise irrespective of how loud I set the right channel's input volume.

Click here for a stereo capture of what's happening. I think it's safe to ignore the glitching noises occurring on the left channel, as they're not there when I'm listening - I figure they're just artifacts created by the recording software....

Thanks for all the assistance so far, I'm fairly new to all this so the help's really appreciated :)

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
You're not the first one to notice noise in an audio channel with a Mac. Seems a bit strange that it's only on one channel though. Be sure to have the Default Device selected.

brucek

·
Registered
8 Posts