Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeah, I'm a novice. I have a home theater and thought the dts would work in the DVDs I have with it, but there was no sound at all. Anyone know why? I thought it was 5.1, but then there's a setting that usually says 5.1 below the dts setting. I'm confused.

·
Registered
538 Posts
We'll need a little more info on what kind of equipment you have, how you have them connected and what settings you are using.

DTS is a particular type of sound format...it's like having a secondary sound file on the disk. There really aren't that many DVDs that have a DTS option. IF they do, you have to go in the setup section on the DVD and select DTS as the output.

·
Registered
538 Posts
What sort of cable are you using for audio? You need to use an S/PDIF Digital cable (optical or coax) or HDMI in order to transmit Dolby Digital and DTS. If you are using a pair of RCA cables, then the best you could possibly get would be Dolby ProLogic, ProLogic II or ProLogic IIx depending on the capability of your receiver and DVD player.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
The receiver must support DTS processing (Digital Theater Sound) or it will not function. Does the receiver clearly state on the front that is processes DTS? It will have a small DTS logo somewhere on the front.
DTS has a slightly higher bitrate and thus usually will have more dynamics and can have as many as 6.1 channel sound not just 5.1

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It says Dobly Digital. No dts in sight I'm afraid. I have it connected with the coax cable that came with it, but it looks an awfully lot like a normal video rca cable, yellow instead of orange as the jacks are.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
It says Dobly Digital. No dts in sight I'm afraid.
Ok then you wont be able to use the DTS audio from the DVD player just use Dolby digital, very little difference.