Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello there,

I am new to the shack, but just browsing around it seems to be a GREAT place with LOTS of resources. Hope you guys could help me out a little bit. I have an RLP-12 D2 that I want to put to good use. I was originally thinking of a sealed enclosure (but am open to other ideas) that would not exceed a couple cubic feet. My goal is to have it primarily for home audio and have a solid output down into the 20/25hz range. Anything below that is just fun! I will be using bookshelves/monitors (whatever you want to call them) that provide solid output to about 45 hertz. My room is 16x14x8.

For an amp, I am also open for suggestions. I was originally thinking of bridging an EP2500 (seems popular and reliable) in order to get a good 4 ohm output. My budget is about $100-150 excluding materials and the amp. I think that is pretty feasible. Looking forward to some feedback/guidance. Thanks you guys!

-Matt

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
A RLP-12 D2 with solid output down into the 20/25hz range in a a couple cubic feet is doable with the new Creative Sound Solutions Passive Radiators. The sub models well in 2 cu.ft. tuned to 21 hz. With 1000 watts input SpL is 109 db at 20 hz, plus room gain.

Matt SPL.JPG

If you go with the EP2500 you would need a high pass filter to protect the sub and PR's from over excursion. The Rechhorn B1 is about $100 and can also boost the input voltage of the Ep2500 id that is an issue with your receiver. The modeling is with a HPF at 16 hz.

Matt Xmax.JPG
Matt PR.JPG

a 17.5 inch cube would be the size needed for the sub. The PR's are $67 each plus shipping.

http://www.creativesound.ca/details.php?model=APR12

The advantage of these PR's is you can change the tuning externally by removing the center cap and adding the supplied washers. It doesn't get any easier. Post #16 of my build thread shows how.