Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what if any difference it makes when building a sub the type of wood used? I see most people use MDF but is there a reason or is it just price. Also is there a better wood to use that would render better results?

·
Registered
464 Posts
I studied that question for quite a while before I started my build. Many different ideas were uncovered, but each has its benefits and shortcomings. after much research, I decided to go with an mdf structure with beautiful oak ply laminate. The main reasons were to save some weight and get structural rigidity. If I would have went with all mdf , my build would be 150-200 pounds more than current weight per cabinet. The end product is extremely rigid and heavy, but not as heavy as it might have been.

Mdf machines quite nicely, while the ply does not come out as pretty. Also, mdf weighs 90-95 pounds per sheet, ply 40-45 pounds.

What type of sub are you planning?

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info, I am planning on a simple sealed 2.2cf sub to match the one I already have although it will have a different driver, the shiva X 12''. I can't go to big so I thought another small sealed would balance out the bass a little although I do get fairly flat response now according to my SMS1. It will be my first build so I will keep it simple. I guess MDF is going to be my choice unless someone changes my mind with a good enough reason.:yes:

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
MDF is cheap and easy. People debate between the different materials but as long as you brace 3/4" MDF appropriately, it works great.