Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wonder how long some of you might think it will take for almost all new source material (whether it be movies, on location news sources, local stuff, anything) to be filmed at some true HD level (whatever you want to define that as)?

I'm brand new into this whole experience as I just got my first 50" Panasonic plasma 1080p a week ago, and I'm by no means an expert on anything audio or video related. This thread really interested me as I too am a bit disappointed in what offerings there are for me in "true" 1080i HD (Cox Cable), but it does seem I have it better than some others. But it would seem to me we are marching down a path to that optional reality in everything eventually. Assuming the economy finds a way to start heading the right direction, more and more consumers get into the HD game, and slowly but surely more source cameras and equipment give way to HD capable stuff, and of course assuming the banwidth to support it all keeps getting satisfied...are we decades off? 5 years? 2 years? Any guesses? Or will the whole concept be replaced by something I don't even know about yet?

·
Banned
22,577 Posts
Hi Chip and welcome to the Shack!

I went ahead and move your post to start a new thread. :T

I noticed just recently that our local CBS network affiliate is no longer broadcasting in analog, although digital does not mean HD necessarily. The news cast for the CBS and NBC affiliates are now broadcasting in HD. I am seeing many commercials now showing in HD... and most prime time programming is HD.

There has been a huge boost in HD display sales with the upcoming mandatory digital conversion in February for the all network affiliates, Blu-ray being settled as the HD format and with the pricing for HD products dropping to very reasonable prices.