Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Newbie here trying to get an idea of the DIY thought process. I have searched the forum but really don't have a clear answer. So here is my thinking.

If you are building your sub box from scratch why use a plate amp rather than an external amp? Do you need the weight? Seems you have much more flexibility with an external amp and keep items separate.

Besides, plate do not seem all that much cheaper than a decent PA amp watt for watt. If and when that plate amp dies you most likely will have to replace it with the exact same model. Why not get an external amp that could possibly run another sub down the road?

But if you cant tell I am at that point now. Plate amp died I am thinking of getting future sub power from external sources.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

·
Premium Member
188 Posts
Biggest advantage to plate amps is 'simplicity', having a few features built in. That's my best guess. I like them for that reason, and not having to worry about level matching with PA amps. It's more "plug n' play". But I agree with you; they may not be the best choice long term. I just had to replace a dead plate amp in a sonotube I made years ago, which had a custom mounting cut into the tube. But I managed, and it wasn't too painful.

So I guess they both have their advantages/disadvantages. For my IB, I actually use a plate amp that I mounted into my wall. Maybe I'd jump into PA amps if I ever needed huge power, but I doubt I'll ever want that. I may be tempted if the PA amps continue to integrate some DSP, like we've started to see.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good points. It is simpler and more plug & play. From what I gather constant upgrade of gear is a common sickness on this forum. Maybe I am at the onset with this urge to move to separate components.

·
Registered
42 Posts