Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reading and reading and modeling and modeling now for the past couple of weeks and have things narrowed down greatly. Mike has suggested a pair of Mach5 IXL 18 2.2s when they are back in stock and I've been figuring out WinISD as best as I can (still lots to learn but fairly confident now).

My question at the moment should be fairly easy: do I need a SSF for these subs for a tuning of 15Hz when my amp has a built in SSF of 10 Hz? That leaves me with the 10-15 Hz frequencies putting me over x-max. Is there enough soundtrack audio out there to warrant the hundred bucks or so? FYI they'll be receiving 750W each.

Thanks for your help in advance,

John Glowa

·
Registered
162 Posts
I am not an experienced pro here, but I don't think so.

I did need one, but my amp does not filter at 10 hz and I am pushing 2500 watts into a single MJ18m tuned to 18 Hz or so. :dumbcrazy:

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
The IXL-18 in 12.5 cu ft. tuned to 15 hz with 750 watts input will exceed Xmax at 13 hz. The question is how often will you push the sub to that limit. If you find that the sub is bottoming out frequently, you can add a out board SSF unit. If it's not bottoming out, no need to get one. Build the subs and try them out first. No sense buying anything until it's determined that you need to.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
2,500W into one MJ18M??? Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't that roughly 3-1/2 times RMS on one of those? It's only been hooked up for a day right...

SSF question. I was hoping folks would say so and that I wouldn't (a majority of them at least). I'm the type of person that has to plan everything out before I start dumping cash into it. I just checked again and xmax really isn't over until 14 Hz or so so I'm talking a range of 4Hz here..

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Mike,