Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Banned
22,577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We may as well go ahead and start a wishlist thread for the next REW upgrade.

Post your suggestions in this thread please! Thanks!

·
Registered
58 Posts
My request for total newbies:

* Step-by-step wizard interface...just connecting cables, clicking next, you know.
1) Setup soundcard
2) Calibrate soundcard
3) Setup SPL-meter
4) Calibrate SPL-meter
5) Other settings
6) Make first measurement

something like that.

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
I have a couple. Not critical but desirable I think and certainly not meant as criticisms.

Keeping the target cut-off and meter cal curves visible after "all measured" button is pressed. It would aid comparisons between the curves rather than judging by eye.

More trial curves saved beyond the present 9. There seems to be lots of room in the left margin for at least twice as many. REW is so quick to use that many trials are easily possible in half an hour of trying BFD filters. I found myself repeatedly deleting valid trials and quickly lost sight of my first filter trials. So I was unable to monitor actual progress rather than follow hunches.

That said, these curves could have been saved as Jpegs or .mdat files if I really wanted them.

I consider 4.0 a considerable advance on 3.29. Thankyou John and friends.

G

·
The only thing I can't seem to find is the following:

The ability to combine a calculated sub response with a measured speaker response to help with estimating their combined response. This may help when working with filters to make sure the crossover point isn't affected.

I like the idea of a wizard for initial setup too. Maybe help make it idiot proof by adding a simple setup diagram. (Soundcard-->receiver mic-->line-in)

The only other thing I can think of is if there was a way to "simulate" the filters by altering a signal going out to a receiver.

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts