Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone on the Home Theater Shack Forum. This is my first post, and I have a big problem w/my Sony CRT that I will explain in detail. I was invited to this Forum and w/the help of Icaillo, I'm hoping to get this problem correctly fixed and document this DIY Repair for others to use. Apparently, this is a common problem w/the Sony CRT's as this failure has been noted many times on other Forums. I want to save my big Sony Tube from the landfill, and hopefully we'll help others do the same.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Re: DIY Repair For Sony CRT That Won't Power On & The Standby Lights Blink...

I will start off by stating that I a total noob at TV repair work, or any other electronics repair work for that matter. I have been doing a lot of reading of my TV problem, and am very willing to give a try. If I can do it, then I figure anybody can. If some of my questions, etc. seem like common knowledge to more experienced DIY'ers, please keep in mind that this is my first DIY repair and I want to be careful.

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
We try to keep the forums organized so that people can find what they are looking for so I moved this here to the Sony forum. As suggested above, a model number is a good start. I have been trying to get around to doing a thread on the now infamous MCZ3001D IC repairs that are needed on these and other Sony sets very often, and cajieboy has agreed to post the details of his experience to help out. Lots of folks are doing these repairs themselves and there is a lot of both good and bad info out there about it. As per our goals here, we will summarize the important info and make sure that it is easy to find, concise, and correct, and not buried in hundreds of pages of individuals seaching for the same info. The details of cajie's repair will be the basis for working up a sticky. Thanks.

·
Registered
14 Posts