Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am currently looking into the accuracy of the YPAO mic that came with my RX-V1800 with the general consensus being more or less what I suspected and that is that the mic is most likely not that flat and the amp contains the compensation data in its DSP.

Does anyone know if there are accurate cal files for these mics available assuming the mics are consistent enough? That poses another question: How consistent are these mics?

I am a recording engineer and am currently designing some studio recording microphones. I have a Behringer ECM8K which I have not yet had calibrated that I've been using for fine tuning my designs. While it is certainly good enough for this purpose when combined with listening tests (my mics are not being designed for perfectly flat response but rather a tailored response for specific studio recording purposes), I will ultimately be publishing the response curves of my mics. Obviously, at that time, I will need to use a properly calibrated mic and will likely get my ECM professionally calibrated.
The ECM I have is one of the original ones and I've heard numerous reports that those were somewhat more accurate and consistent than the latest ones that tend to vary considerably in response. Whether or not this is true, I am uncertain.

Anyway, my curiosity about the Yammy mic is because if they are consistent (Yamaha tend to be quite good at consistency), then if I could get an accurate cal file for it, I could compare it to my ECM8K and see how closely the Yammy with cal file compared to the Behri. Hence my questions above.

Any info about this would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers guys.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts